Volker Heine Young Investigator Award


With the Psi-k conference postponed to 2021, the Volker Heine Young Investigator Award 2020 is also postponed to next year.

The eligibity conditions and deadlines stated below reflect this postponement.

The Volker Heine Young Investigator Award recognizes individuals for their outstanding computational work in the areas covered by the Psi-k mission statement ("...to develop fundamental theory, algorithms, and computer codes in order to understand, predict, and design materials properties and functions"). There will be one award of 2'500€ and four runner-up prizes of 500€ each.

Young researchers are invited to put themselves forward for the Volker Heine Young Investigator Award. Finalists will present at a dedicated symposium of the conference.


Applicants may be of any nationality working anywhere in the world. Applicants must be either currently enrolled in a PhD program, or be recent PhD graduates who have received their PhD certificate no earlier than September 11, 2015.


Young investigators who wish to compete for the Volker Heine Young Investigator Award 2021 must submit the following documents, merged as a single PDF file, by email to the conference secretariat by March 31, 2021:

  1. an extended CV (including list of publications and talks/posters)
  2. a two-page description making the case for their outstanding scientific contributions, including up to a maximum 5 hyperlinks to the relevant publications or websites
  3. an abstract (in the same format as the abstracts for the conference)
  4. evidence proving the eligibility conditions above

In addition, the candidate must arrange for two confidential support letters to be sent directly (not via the candidate). These letters (sent by email to the conference secretariat) must be received by April 15, 2021. One of the letters must certify that the candidate meets the eligibility condition above.


The award committee will select five finalists who will get an invitation to present their work at the Psi-k Meeting (25 min. talk + 5 min. discussion). After these presentations, the award committee will select the award winner.

The winner will receive the award of 2'500€ and the four runner-up their prizes of 500€ each, together with a certificate, during the conference closing ceremony.

The recipient of the Volker Heine Young Investigator Award will be invited to submit a scientific article to npj Computational Materials*, which will also appear as a Psi-k Highlight.

* If accepted, npj Computational Materials will waive the publication charges.

Award committee

The award committee will consist of the seven plenary speakers and a selected number of Psi-k trustees.

Previous awards

2010 Claudio Attaccalite, Christoph Freysoldt, Matteo Gatti, Samir Lounis, Alexandre Tkatchenko

2013 Xavier Andrade, Michele Ceriotti, Nicholas D.M. Hine, Cheol-Hwan Park, Tim Wehling

2015 Marco Bernardi, Andreas Grüneis, Fabio Caruso, Ion Errea, Johanna Fuks

2018 Jan Gerit Brandenburg, Viktor Ivády, Yaroslav Kvashnin, Reinhard J. Maurer, Bartomeu Monserrat